Magnet students selected as Georgia Scholars
The Citizen . April 19, 2017.

Six seniors from the Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology have been recognized as 2017 Georgia Scholars.

They were among 183 graduating seniors from schools across the state receiving the distinction from the Georgia Department of Education.

Gwendolyn Cothran, Jazz Duncan, Jordan Holmes, Laurel Holmes, Caroline Norwood and Dahlia Walter were the selected recipients of this honor.

“I am delighted these six seniors represent our 2017 Georgia Scholars from Rockdale County,” said Debra Arnold, director of Rockdale Magnet.

“At the Rockdale Magnet School, we believe in academic excellence, and these six young ladies model this belief in their academia, athletics, community outreach and co-curricular leadership.”

Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home.

Georgia Scholars are students who have carried exemplary course loads during the four years of high school; who performed excellently in all courses; who successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and who have assumed active roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools.

The program is coordinated by the department’s Excellence Recognition Office and through local coordinators in each public school system and in private schools throughout the state.

Each Georgia Scholar will receive a seal for his or her diploma.

“I offer my sincere congratulations to each of our 2017 Georgia Scholars,” said State School Superintendent Richard Woods.

“These students have exemplary academic performance, but they’ve also gained soft skills by taking on leadership roles within their schools and communities.

I am confident we will hear great things about their accomplishments in the near future.”

Visit the News Archive for more magnet school news.